If you get in a car accident with an uninsured/underinsured driver, you will need the help of New Jersey uninsured/underinsured car accident attorneys.
A car accident can mean a dented bumper or cracked taillights. Unfortunately, it can also mean serious physical injuries and extensive damage to your car.
In that case, you may face expensive medical bills and repair charges to fix your car. In addition, you may miss work and several paychecks while you recover from your injuries.
What could make that situation worse?
Well, there is one thing that can make an unpleasant situation worse. What if the driver who hit you is uninsured or underinsured?
New Jersey law requires all vehicle owners to carry insurance. Notwithstanding that, many vehicles that travel in New Jersey are uninsured. Irresponsible vehicle owners may miss a few payments and have their policy cancelled. Or the policy lapses and the owner fails to renew it.
Whatever the reason, it is a problem.
What Happens if an Uninsured Driver Injures You in a Car Accident?
If you are seriously injured in a car accident, you will probably incur significant medical bills relating to hospital and doctor visits. Additionally, you may need future treatment for your injury, including physical therapy. Your vehicle, if not totaled, will have to be repaired. Moreover, you may miss time from work and lose pay.
You may make a claim with the other driver’s insurance company for the damages you suffered, including “pain and suffering.” In fact, if your injuries are serious, pain and suffering may be one of the largest, if not the largest, part of your claim for damages.
But what if the other driver did not have insurance?
New Jersey law also requires insurance companies to provide uninsured motorist coverage in their policies. Therefore, you may file a claim with your own insurance company to seek compensation for the injuries and damages you suffered in the car accident with the uninsured driver or hit-and-run driver – that type of accident is also covered with uninsured motorist protection.
You may receive compensation from your insurance company up to the limits on your policy.
What Happens if the Other Driver is Underinsured?
If the other driver was underinsured, you still need the help of experienced New Jersey uninsured/underinsured car accident attorneys.
An underinsured driver has car insurance, but the policy provides for the lowest limits permitted by the state. The minimum amount of coverage offered in an auto liability policy in New Jersey is $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
Therefore, if an underinsured driver injures you in a car accident, you will only be able to collect compensation from the driver’s carrier up to the limits of the policy. Consequently, in the example above, you could only collect $15,000.
And $15,000 for serious injuries may not be close to what you are entitled to receive.
Fortunately, with underinsured motorist coverage, you can choose coverage amounts above the minimum. Therefore, if your damages are higher than the liability coverage on the underinsured driver’s car, you can first collect the policy limit from the underinsured driver’s carrier. Then, you can go to your carrier and collect the balance of the damage amount which is over the driver’s policy limits (up to your policy limits).
We Deal with Insurance Companies Every Day
What this means is that if an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver leaves you with serious injuries, you will negotiate to settle your claim with your own insurance carrier.
We negotiate with insurance companies every day.
If we cannot negotiate a settlement that is fair to you, we will sue the driver and your insurance carrier to obtain a settlement or jury award that covers your damages.
Experienced New Jersey Uninsured/Underinsured Car Accident Lawyers
Getting into an accident with an uninsured/underinsured driver can only complicate what may already be a complicated matter. If you are in such an accident, contact the New Jersey uninsured/underinsured car accident attorneys at Schiller, Pittenger & Galvin, P.C. We will deal with your insurance company so you can heal from your injuries. Call us in our Scotch Plains offices at 908-490-0440 or contact us online for a free consultation. We provide our services on a contingent fee basis. Therefore, you owe no attorney’s fee if we do not collect a recovery in your favor.